## Greetings!

As an alumnus, I'm very excited to see the activity going on this year as we look toward the future of Washburn Law in our new home. I want to congratulate the school on an increase in the 1L class this year, and we are excited for more good news in the years to come as incoming law students see the great space and meet the excellent faculty in the School of Law.

The search for the new dean is well underway. I know as alumni, we all care deeply about our law school and who is serving as dean. We look forward to hearing the updates on the search process, and I know that campus leadership will take careful and thoughtful consideration for new leadership and making sure Washburn Law continues its tradition of teaching excellence.

We were all shocked and saddened to learn of the passing of long-time Washburn Law professor and dean Jim Concannon. Thanks to a small group of his friends and former students, his mark on this law school will live on forever through the naming of the James M. Concannon Dean and Professor of Law fund. In recognition of Dean Concannon's 50 years of service to Washburn, the Law School Foundation recently transferred \$500,000 to enhance this newly created deanship, the first ever named deanship on Washburn's campus. To date, \$2.3 million has been donated to the Concannon Deanship toward the \$3 million needed to name the fund. If you would like to give to the deanship fund in memory of Concannon, visit wualumni.org/ schooloflaw.

Finally, the board this fall approved a new slate of alumni award winners and honored them on Oct. 13, 2023. It is a pleasure to go through that practice each year and see the nominees from your peers. We truly are a community who admires and acknowledges others' work, and we are excited to honor each of you for your accomplishments. Congratulations to everyone. You can read more about each recipient on page 30.

Thank you again for all you do for the School of Law.

Respectfully,

Thomas A. Adrian, '69 Chair, Washburn University School of Law Alumni Association Board of Governors





The Washburn University School of Law Alumni Association Board of Governors was first created in 1952. Our mission is to promote the interests of the Law School by engaging our alumni through service to the Law School and the Association, participating in alumni events and programs, remaining connected, and assisting to further scholarship funding. Appointments run July through June.

## 2023-2024 Board of Governors

Thomas A. Adrian, '69 - Chair (Newton, Kan.) Troy A. Stremming, '95 - Chair Elect (Overland Park, Kan.) Suneetra N. Mickle, '06 – Vice-Chair (Topeka) Lynn S. McCreary, '94 - Past Chair (Alexandria, Va.) Lori A. Fink, '85 – Treasurer (Dallas, Texas) James C. Slattery, '74 – Law Foundation President (Topeka)

Eunice C. Peters, '06 – Secretary (Carbondale, Kan.)

## **Members**

The Honorable Candice A. Alcaraz, '16 (Kansas City, Kan.) Deena M. Hyson Bailey, '97 (Wichita) Timothy M. Belsan, '09 (Washington, D.C.) John T. Bird, '74 (Hays, Kan.) The Honorable Gwynne E. Harris Birzer, '92 (Wichita) Ann C. Frigon, '80 (Dodge City, Kan.) Natalie G. Haag, '85 (Topeka) Jeffrey R. Hewett, '95 (Bellaire, Texas) Merideth J. Hogan, '16 (Shawnee, Kan.) Jeffrey D. Jackson, '92 (Topeka) Laura Ice, '84 (Wichita) Amanda J. Kiefer, '03 (Topeka) John A. Kober, '83 (Dallas, Texas) Michael J. Kuckelman, '90 (Overland Park, Kan.) Tony Mattivi, '94 (Topeka) Lisa A. McPherson, '94 (Wichita) Marcos Mendoza, '89 (Austin, Texas) Robert J. Moody, Jr., '14 (Wichita) Marjorie D. Petty, '90 (Dallas, Texas) Nicole M. Revenaugh, '12 (Topeka) Zackery E. Reynolds, '82 (Fort Scott, Kan.) John M. Shoemaker, '04 (Singapore) William T. Townsley, III, '89 (Wichita) L. Dale Ward, '90 (Wichita)

Angel R. Zimmerman, '06 (Topeka)