# **Class Actions**

The following alumni are those whose updates were reported to the school before Sept. 30, 2023. Update your address at alumni@washburnlaw.edu and submit your news at washburnlaw.edu/alumninews.

#### 1968

**Robert Minter**, Wichita, was honored with the Outstanding Achievement in R.I.S.E. Values award at Friends University in September.

# 1970

*Lynn Johnson,* Kansas City, Missouri, has been named on the Best Personal Injury Lawyers in Kansas City of 2023.

# 1978

**Edward Nazar**, Overland Park, Kansas, has been promoted to Corporate Counsel, SVP at Equity Bank.

**Richard Yoxall**, Liberal, Kansas, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Southwest Kansas Bar Association in September.

# 1979

Michael Kracht, Doylestown, Pennsylvania, has retired as partner from Weber, Kracht & Chellew, and will maintain a consulting relationship with the law firm.

**The Hon. Steven Montgomery**, Spring Hill, Kansas, retired in July after serving 17 years in the 6th Judicial District.

# 1980

**The Hon. Charles Apt, III,** Iola, Kansas, became magistrate court judge for the 31st Judicial District in April.

John Hageman, The Woodlands, Texas, is now a senior director with Alvarez & Marsal's U.S. Energy practice in Houston.

# 1981

**Glenn Braun**, Hays, Kansas, was honored with the Distinguished Service Award in August by the Kansas Bar Association.

William Ekey, Odessa, Missouri, has been appointed to the Health and Educational Facilities Authority of the State of Missouri by Gov. Mike Parson.

John Gatz, Colby, Kansas, was recognized in August with the Professionalism Award by the Kansas Bar Association.

# 1983

**Stanley Spurrier, III,** Wichita, has been honored by Best Lawyers in America for 2023.

# 1984

**Lawrence Gurney**, Wichita, is now an administrative law judge in Wichita for the Kansas Department of Labor.

# 1985

**Robert Anderson, Sr.,** Ellinwood, Kansas, published a book titled, "Justice for Baby Roston."

Leslie Hess, Evergreen, Colorado, is now a broker associate at Sage + Sparrow.

**Gregory Hough**, Topeka, was honored with the Hon. Matt J. Whitworth Trial Excellence Award by the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association.

The Hon. Michael Wright, Warrenton, Missouri, has been appointed to a judgeship on the Eastern District Missouri Court of Appeals by Gov. Mike Parson.

#### 1988

**Brian Boos**, Olathe, Kansas, has joined Foulston Siefkin's Overland Park office as a trial lawyer.

#### 1989

**The Hon. Quintress Gilbert**, Macon, Georgia, the first female African American judge in Macon-Bibb's history, retired on Sept. 28, 2023.

# 1991

**The Hon. Jay Befort**, Topeka, has been appointed as judge in the 3rd Judicial District by Gov. Laura Kelly.

**Curtis Sneden**, Topeka, is now the director of economic development at the Metropolitan Topeka Airport Authority.

# 1992

**Danielle Dempsey-Swopes**, Topeka, has been promoted to associate dean for student affairs at Washburn Law.

**David Farris**, Andover, Kansas, has merged his firm with Slape & Howard after 31 years of running his own practice.

#### 1994

**Tracy Wilkinson-Vessigault,** Elk Grove, California, is now an administrative law judge at California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.

# 1995

**Terence O'Malley**, Kansas City, Missouri, released the documentary, "Nelly Don: The Musical Movie." O'Malley was the executive producer, director, and writer for the film and the great-great nephew of Nelly Don.

#### 1996

#### The Hon. Michael Montero,

Winnemucca, Nevada, was honored with the Innovator of the Year award at Justice Innovation Awards.

## 1997

**Deena Hyson Bailey**, Wichita, has been named managing assistant general counsel of Cargill Law Department and assistant vice president of Cargill Protein - North America.

#### 1998

**The Hon. Kristen Venhuizen**, Grand Forks, North Dakota, has been appointed to a newly created judgeship in the Northeast Central Judicial District by Gov. Doug Burgum.

#### 1999

**Shawn Leisinger**, Topeka, is now associate dean for centers and external programs at Washburn Law.

**Deborah Volle**, Topeka, is now a testing proctor at Washburn University.

#### 2001

**Andrew Smith**, Las Vegas, Nevada, is now assistant general counsel at the University of Nevada Las Vegas.

#### 2002

Jodi Adolf, Kansas City, Missouri, is now a partner at Norton Rose Fullbright.

**Melissa Dugan**, Chanute, Kansas, has been selected as a district magistrate judge by the 31st Judicial District Nominating Commission.

#### 2003

Wesley Ashton, Rapid City, South Dakota, has been promoted to vice president of Black Hills Energy, overseeing operations in South Dakota and Wyoming.

**Glen McBeth**, Topeka, is now the instructional technology librarian at Washburn Law.

## 2007

**Shelby Grau,** Tecumseh, Kansas, is now assistant general counsel at Washburn University.

## 2008

**Cynthia Holthaus**, Topeka, has been promoted to chief of staff, director of government relations at Washburn University.

**Shawn Jurgensen**, Lawrence, Kansas, has stepped down from special counsel to Chief Justice Marla Luckert to become chief public policy officer/ innovation director of the Council of State Governments in Lexington, Kentucky.

## 2009

**Tiffany Hogan**, Ellenwood, Georgia, has been promoted to division vice president of forward planning for D.R. Horton, Inc.

## 2010

**Rebecca Alexander**, Lawrence, Kansas, is now the cataloging and reference librarian at Washburn Law Library.

# 2013

John Hatcher, Webb City, Missouri, is now a federal prosecutor for the United States Attorney's Office.

# 2014

**Benjamin Busboom**, Omaha, Nebraska, is now an attorney at Polsinelli.

**Eli O'Brien**, Wichita, has been honored by Best Lawyers in America for 2023.

# 2015

Kaitlin Alegria, Topeka, is now assistant dean of admissions at Washburn Law.

# 2018

**Brian Dollar**, Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas, is now a land surveyor at the United States Forest Service.

**Abigail Hoelting**, Shawnee, Kansas, is now at Americo Financial Life and Annuity.

**Shannon VanMatre**, Pueblo, Colorado, is now at Matlin Injury Law.

# 2019

**Kelly McCurdy**, Overland Park, Kansas, is now at Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani, LLP.

**Blake Porter,** Topeka, is now corporate counsel at Federal Home Loan Bank of Topeka.

#### 2020

Katherine Davis, Topeka, is now the assistant director of professional development at Washburn Law.

**Clarissa Harvey**, Kansas City, Kansas, is now a visiting assistant professor at Washburn Law.

#### Nicolette Rodriguez Armstrong,

Kansas City, Missouri, is now a litigation associate at Stinson LLP.

# 2021

Zachary Bealer was posthumously named the 2023 American Immigration Lawyers Association Pro Bono Champion for Missouri/Kansas chapter.

# 2022

**Connor Brown**, Grandview, Missouri, is now an attorney at Sandberg Phoenix.

# 2023

**Gabrielle Frawley**, Lawrence, Kansas, has been selected to serve a one-year clerkship for the North Dakota Supreme Court for the 2024-25 term beginning Aug. 1, 2024.

Melanie Harbaugh, Topeka, has been hired at Gibson Watson Marino LLC.