Washburn Law Students Receive Kansas Bar Foundation Scholarship Awards

Seven Kansas Bar Foundation (KBF) Scholarship recipients were recognized at the Court Appreciation Dinner hosted by the Kansas Bar Association in Topeka on February 13, 2014. Five of the seven recipients are Washburn Law students. Recipients also met the families of the donors who established the scholarships.

The Washburn Law recipients and their KBF awards include:

Richard W. “Rick” Smith, J.D. Candidate, ’15 -- Case Moses & Zimmerman P.A. Law Student Scholarship is awarded to a second-year law student who intends to practice law in the state of Kansas.

Christopher A. “Chris” Rohr, J.D. Candidate, ’14 -- Maxine S. Thompson Memorial Scholarship is awarded to law student who is originally from Kansas, who has at least 60 hours towards a law degree, and who plans to practice in rural Kansas, preferably Western Kansas. 

Kurtis K. Wiard, J.D. Candidate, ’14 -- The John E. Shamberg Memorial Law Student Scholarship is awarded to a Washburn Law student who has an interest in plaintiff’s work as well as a bona fide intention to practice law in Kansas.

Kayla L. Roehler, J.D. Candidate, ’15 -- Hinkle Law Firm Student Scholarship is awarded to a law student who demonstrates a history of community involvement and intends to practice law in Kansas.

Aaron M. Othmer, J.D. Candidate, ’16 -- Frank C. and Jeanne M. Norton Scholarship Award is given to a second or third-year law student from Washburn Law who doesn’t receive any other scholarship support.