Awards Given to Washburn Law Faculty by AALS

Washburn Law Dean Carla Pratt and Professor Marsha Griggs were presented awards by The Association of American Law Schools (AALS) in early January at their annual meeting. 

Dean Carla Pratt was one of five law school deans that received the inaugural Impact Award for creating an Antiracist Clearinghouse Project.

"The AALS thanks these five law school leaders for creating the Law Deans Antiracist Clearinghouse Project and is pleased to honor their efforts with the inaugural AALS Impact Award," said Darby Dickerson, AALS President and Dean of UIC John Marshall Law School. "These remarkable women conceptualized and created this phased guide to help law schools develop a sustainable antiracist agenda and provide resources and steps for each phase of the process. Given the project’s impact, they are the perfect inaugural recipients."

"The five extraordinary deans who are receiving this award acted decisively in a moment that required a meaningful response from all of us in legal education," said Vince Rougeau, AALS President-elect and Dean of Boston College Law School. "In assembling these resources, they have provided their colleagues with a wonderful set of materials to support our work in building an antiracist future for our law schools, our profession, and our society."

Professor Marsha Griggs was presented with AALS Section on Academic Support's Trailblazer Award. This award is given "to a person inspiring change in Academic Support Programs (ASP) today and catapulting us forward to a stronger tomorrow."

"This year, AALS sections were more important than ever as law school faculty and administrators supported each other through online events, mentorship programs, discussions about important legal issues, scholarly exchanges, and teaching advice." said Darby Dickerson, AALS President and Dean of UIC John Marshall Law School. "I am honored to present the following awardees who represent outstanding achievement as honored by their sections."

The entire awards ceremony can be viewed here.

Awards Ceremony Timestamps