Bright Future

Do you recall the moment you made the decision to attend law school? For many of us, the decision to pursue a law degree was made in part because of our values. The commitment to justice is as evident in today's alumni as it was in our founders over 100 years ago. I am proud to see this showcased throughout this latest edition of the School of Law's publication, the Lawyer.

As we gear up for a new year, I am excited to witness the new law building opening in time for the next fall semester. Like so many buildings before it, this started as a vision to fulfill the needs of current and prospective law students. The updated technology, classroom configuration options, and collaborative learning spaces will all contribute to the continued success of Washburn University School of Law. Combined with the Third Year Anywhere program, the future of our renowned alma mater is bright.

With a bright future ahead, I welcome you to join me. If you recall, earlier this year the Washburn Law Alumni Association partnered with the University's Alumni Association to provide our members with more benefits and opportunities to network. Alumni who join our Alumni Association will automatically be enrolled in the University's Alumni Association as well, receiving the benefits of both organizations. We expect the expanded opportunity to broaden and deepen the Washburn bond. If you are not already a member of the Law Alumni Association, I invite you to become a member today.

Whether you've been away from Washburn for five years or 50, our values remain the same. I am confident that each of you carries a commitment to excellence, integrity, and professionalism in your respective careers. As always, thank you for all you do to support Washburn.

Respectfully,

Thomas A. Adrian, '69 Chair, Washburn University School of Law Alumni Association Board of Governors





The Washburn University School of Law Alumni Association Board of Governors was first created in 1952. Our mission is to promote the interests of the Law School by engaging our alumni through service to the Law School and the Association, participating in alumni events and programs, remaining connected, and assisting to further scholarship funding. Appointments run July through June.

2022-2023 Board of Governors

Thomas A. Adrian, '69 - Chair (Newton, Kan.) Troy A. Stremming, '95 - Chair Elect (Overland Park, Kan.) Suneetra N. Mickle, '06 - Vice-Chair (Topeka) Lynn S. McCreary, '94 - Past Chair (Alexandria, Va.) Lori A. Fink, '85 - Treasurer (Dallas, Texas) Prof. Jeffrey D. Jackson, '92 - Secretary (Topeka) James C. Slattery, '74 – Law Foundation President (Topeka)

Members

Deena M. Hyson Bailey, '97 (Wichita, Kan.) Timothy M. Belsan, '09 (Washington, D.C.) John T. Bird, '74 (Hays, Kan.) The Honorable Gwynne E. Harris Birzer, '92 (Wichita, Kan.) Samantha Chechele, '88 (St. Petersburg, Fla.) S. Lucky DeFries, '78 (Topeka) Shanelle E. Dupree, '07 (Kansas City, Kan.) Ann C. Frigon, '80 (Dodge City, Kan.) Natalie G. Haag, '85 (Topeka, Kan.) Jeffrey R. Hewett, '95 (Bellaire, Texas) Merideth J. Hogan, '16 (Shawnee, Kan.) Laura Ice, '84 (Wichita, Kan.) Amanda J. Kiefer, '03 (Topeka) John A. Kober, '83 (Dallas, Texas) Michael J. Kuckelman, '90 (Overland Park, Kan.) Lisa A. McPherson, '94 (Wichita, Kan.) Marcos Mendoza, '89 (Austin, Texas) W. Edward Nichols, '71 (Denver, Colo.) Marjorie D. Petty, '90 (Dallas, Texas) Nicole M. Revenaugh, '12 (Topeka) Zackery E. Reynolds, '82 (Fort Scott, Kan.) Lewlene M. Schneider, '92 (Wichita, Kan.) John M. Shoemaker, '04 (Singapore) L. Dale Ward, '90 (Wichita, Kan.) Angel R. Zimmerman, '06 (Topeka)