Photograph: Eagle statue outside law school.

Moot Court Awards

The Lester M. Goodell Awards

Since 1969, the Topeka firm of Goodell, Stratton, Edmonds, and Palmer has sponsored the annual Lester M. Goodell Memorial Intramural Moot Court Competition. This competition is conducted in the fall of each academic year. Initially, the Goodell Award recognized the top oralist in the intramural competition. In 1979, a second award was created to recognize the top brief writer. The name of each recipient is engraved on the Goodell trophies and plaque which are permanently on display at the law school.

  • 2022-2023 Recepients: Dylan J. Pryor (Top Oralist), Elisabeth M. Wilder (Top Brief)
  • 2021-2022 Recipients: Taylor M. Moore (Top Oralist), Mayda R. Stallbaumer (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2020-2021 Recipient: Jamie L. Welch (Top Oralist and Top Brief Writer)
  • 2019-2020 Recipents: Ivan Moya (Top Oralist), Ian Hughes (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2018-2019 Recipients: Douglas N. Miller (Top Oralist), Rebecca E. Bergkamp (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2017-2018 Recipients: Hannah L. Woofter (Top Oralist), Curry P. Sexton (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2016-2017 Recipient: Christopher M. Helt (Top Oralist, Top Brief Writer)
  • 2015-2016 Recipients: Rebecca S. Craig (Top Oralist), Zachariah Zallo (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2014-2015 Recipients: Lauren E. Amrein (Top Oralist), James K. Weber (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2013-2014 Recipients: Alexander P. Gentry (Top Oralist), Paul J. Boudreaux (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2012-2013 Recipients: Joshua M. Conway (Top Oralist), John "Bo" Turney (Top Brief)
  • 2011-2012 Recipients: Bryan W. Cox (Top Oralist), Brent A. Jepson (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2010-2011 Recipient: ReAnne Utemark Wentz (Top Oralist and Top Brief Writer)
  • 2009-2010 Recipients: Amanda Haas (Top Oralist), Shawn P. Yancy (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2008-2009 Recipients: Adam D. Andersen (Top Oralist), Andrew C. Clark (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2007-2008 Recipients: Kimberly M. Lynch (Top Oralist), Regan R. Duckworth (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2006-2007 Recipients: Christopher (Charles) C. Ault-Duell (Top Oralist), Amy E. Taylor (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2005-2006 Recipients: Matthew C. Ballard (Top Oralist), Seth D. Hardy (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2004-2005 Recipients: Alex B. Judd (Top Oralist), Brian J. Malone (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2003-2004 Recipients: Paul M. Mzembe (Top Oralist), Brian C. Perkins (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2002-2003 Recipients: Judith A. Taylor (Top Oralist), Shawna R. Breathouwer (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2001-2002 Recipients: Gregory C. Graffman (Top Oralist), Angelee R. Gregory (Top Brief Writer)
  • 2000-2001 Recipient: Jeremy Shull (Top Oralist, Top Brief Writer)
  • 1999-2000 Recipient: Tracie England (Top Oralist, Top Brief Writer)

John K. Kleinheksel Prize For Excellence in Oral Advocacy

This endowed prize fund has been established through a gift to the Washburn Law School Foundation from John K. Kleinheksel, '72. The prize is divided among the members of the Moot Court team that achieve the highest final ranking in an interschool competition.

  • 2020-2021 Recipients: Kaitlyn R. Bull, Jamie L. Welch
  • 2009-2010 Recipients: Krystal L. Baer, Alice L. Walker
  • 2008-2009 Recipients: Jeffrey G. Dazey, Robert M. Weaver
  • 2007-2008 Recipients: Kimberly M. Lynch and Peter K. Andreone; Shawn C. Jurgensen and Amy E. Taylor
  • 2006-2007 Recipients: Matthew C. Ballard, Zach Chaffee-McClure
  • 2005-2006 Recipients: Zach Chaffee-McClure, Matthew C. Ballard
  • 2004-2005 Recipients: Bradley L. Hemsley, Paul M. Mzembe
  • 2002-2003 Recipients: Tiffany Tant, Leann Cramer, Eric Bidwell
  • 2001-2002 Recipients: Joseph N. Molina, Carlus L. Haynes, Mark A. Heer
  • 2000-2001 Recipients: Carolyn Powell, Jeremy Shull, Teri Canfield-Eye

Faculty Brief Award

The Faculty Brief Award is presented each year to team members who author the best interscholastic competition brief. The Moot Court Faculty Committee chooses from among the briefs written by Washburn Moot Court interscholastic competition teams.

  • 2009-2010 Recipients: Krystal L. Baer, Alice L. Walker
  • 2008-2009 Recipients: Alice L. Hughes and Jennifer L. Thoms
  • 2007-2008 Recipients: Christopher (Charles) C. Ault-Duell and David J. Stucky

Martin Pringle Oliver Wallace & Bauer Awards

From 1992-2008, the Wichita law firm of Martin, Pringle, Oliver, Wallace and Bauer sponsored Moot Court members to compete in the Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition held at Brooklyn Law School. The firm underwrote the expenses related to the competition and also provided scholarship awards.

The purpose of the Martin, Pringle Awards was to develop and recognize excellence in the area of appellate advocacy. Each recipient's name is engraved on a plaque which is permanently on display at the law school.

  • 2007-2008 Recipients: Kari R. Burks and Regan R. Duckworth
  • 2006-2007 Recipients: Kelly J. Kauffman, Karen M. Quintelier
  • 2005-2006 Recipients: Zach Chaffee-McClure, Matthew C. Ballard
  • 2004-2005 Recipients: Alex B. Judd, Michelle K. Moe
  • 2003-2004 Recipients: Cheryl A. Kessler, William E. Peterson, Paul M. Mzembe
  • 2002-2003 Recipients: William E. Peterson, Judith A. Taylor
  • 2001-2002 Recipients: Angelee R. Gregory, Jeremy D. Shull
  • 2000-2001 Recipients: Angie Bloomer, Shawn Lindsay
  • 1999-2000 Recipients: Mark Curzydlo, Angie Bloomer, Pat Mitchell