Jessup Moot Court Team Reaches Final Four in Denver Super-Regional

Washburn Law Jessup Moot Court Team members: left bottom to top, John Westerhaus,  Kaitlin Marsh, Megan Williams; right bottom to top, Bryan Cox, Shannon Rush, John Hatcher.The Washburn Law Jessup Moot Court Team competed in the Rocky Mountain Super-Regional Round of the Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Competition held at Denver University Sturm College of Law, February 9-12, 2012. The Jessup Competition is the most competitive and prestigious moot court competition in the world, with over 500 law schools from over 100 countries competing to reach the world championship round held each year at the end of March in Washington, D.C. Washburn's team competed against 22 other law schools, including the University of Kansas, Washington University, and Vanderbilt. The 2012 problem involved complicated issues of international law relating to the legitimacy of governments, the use of armed force, sovereign immunity, and the destruction of world heritage property.

Washburn Law's team was comprised of six students: John (J.D.) Hatcher and Shannon Rush (applicants), Kaitlin Marsh and Bryan Cox (respondents), John Westerhaus (of counsel), and Megan Williams providing support as the 1L participant.

Washburn finished first among the 23 teams in the preliminary round, going undefeated against Hameline University, the University of Iowa, the University of Minnesota, and Washington University (St. Louis). In the quarter-final round Washburn defeated Brigham Young University to reach the final four. In a close split vote among three judges, the Washburn team lost to Michigan State in the semi-final, narrowly missing the opportunity to advance to the World Round in Washington D.C. Michigan State and Vanderbilt advanced.

The Washburn team won 5th place for best Memorial (brief), and John Hatcher won 7th place for top oralist overall.

Jessup Moot Court Team coach Professor Craig Martin observed that "The team put in an outstanding performance in written and oral advocacy and exhibited a high level of professionalism and good sportsmanship, representing the best traditions of Washburn in all respects."

Assisting Professor Martin in preparing the team were Professors Jeremiah Ho, Jeffrey Jackson, Patricia Judd, and Amy Westbrook, and Washburn Law alumni Miguel Rivera and Jeremy Schrag.

Posted February 20, 2012.